top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMerdeka Secretariat

Financial punishment against human rights defender Veronica Koman

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

Lihat teks dalam bahasa Indonesia di bawah.


Note: The following is a press release from Indonesian human rights lawyer Veronica Koman on the Indonesian Government's most recent legal harassment against her due to her strong advocacy work for West Papua.


Sydney, 11 August 2020 – The government of Indonesia has imposed a financial punishment upon me in a new attempt to pressure me into stopping my human rights advocacy work in West Papua. After fabricating criminal charges, seeking an interpol Red Notice, and threatening to cancel my passport, now the government is forcing me to refund a scholarship which was awarded to me in September 2016. The amount I am required to pay is IDR 773,876,918 (~USD 53,000).


The demand from Indonesia’s Ministry of Finance has been made along with a claim that I failed to comply with an obligation to return to Indonesia after undertaking studies abroad. However I did return to Indonesia in September 2018 after completing a Masters of Law program at the Australian National University.


Since October 2018, I have continued to dedicate my time to human rights advocacy in Indonesia, including by working for the Jayapura-based Association of Human Rights Advocates for Papua (PAHAM Papua). I travelled to Switzerland for advocacy at the United Nations in March 2019 and returned to Indonesia afterwards. I provided pro-bono legal representation in court for West Papuan activists in three separate court proceedings in Timika, West Papua from April to May 2019. I then visited Australia on a three-month visa for a graduation ceremony held in July 2019.


While in Australia during August 2019, I was summoned by Indonesian police and later placed on national police wanted list based on fabricated charges in September 2019.


During this period in August 2019 I defied Jakarta’s internet shutdown in West Papua by posting footage of thousands of people taking to the streets protesting against racism and for a self-determination referendum. I weathered a barrage of death and rape threats, and was subjected to a campaign of online misinformation which a Reuters investigation concluded was organised and funded by members of the Indonesian military intelligence.


This decision is clearly designed to punish me as a human rights defender on behalf of West Papuans.


I hereby call on the Indonesian Ministry of Finance led by world renowned Sri Mulyani to not join a list of government institutions that persecute human rights defenders and to acknowledge my post-study return to Indonesia. I have demonstrated that I am willing to return to Indonesia if I am no longer subjected to a dangerous campaign which threatens my liberty and personal safety.



 

Hukuman finansial terhadap Veronica Koman


Sydney, 11 Agustus 2020 — Pemerintah Indonesia menerapkan hukuman finansial sebagai upaya terbaru untuk menekan saya berhenti melakukan advokasi hak asasi manusia (HAM) Papua. Setelah mengkriminalisasi, lalu meminta Interpol untuk mengeluarkan ‘red notice’, dan mengancam untuk membatalkan paspor saya, kini pemerintah memaksa saya untuk mengembalikan beasiswa yang pernah diberikan kepada saya pada September 2016. Adapun jumlah dana yang diminta adalah sebesar IDR 773,876,918.


Permintaan oleh Lembaga Pengelola Dana Pendidikan (LPDP) di bawah Kementerian Keuangan Republik Indonesia (Kemenkeu) tersebut dibuat berdasarkan klaim bahwa saya tidak mematuhi ketentuan harus kembali ke Indonesia setelah usai masa studi.

Kenyataannya, saya kembali ke Indonesia pada September 2018 setelah menyelesaikan program ​Master of Laws ​di ​Australian National University​.


Faktanya sejak Oktober 2018 di Indonesia, saya melanjutkan dedikasi waktu saya untuk advokasi HAM, termasuk dengan mengabdi di Perkumpulan Advokat Hak Asasi Manusia untuk Papua (PAHAM Papua) yang berbasis di Jayapura. Saya ke Swiss untuk melakukan advokasi di Perserikatan Bangsa-Bangsa pada Maret 2019 dan kembali ke Indonesia setelahnya. Saya memberikan bantuan hukum pro-bono kepada para aktivis Papua pada tiga kasus pengadilan yang berbeda di Timika sejak April hingga Mei 2019.


Saya lalu berkunjung ke Australia dengan menggunakan visa tiga bulan saya untuk menghadiri wisuda yang diselenggarakan pada Juli 2019. Ketika berada di Australia pada Agustus 2019, saya dipanggil oleh kepolisian Indonesia dan berikutnya saya ditempatkan dalam daftar pencarian orang (DPO) pada September 2019.


Pada masa Agustus-September 2019 ini, saya tetap bersuara untuk melawan narasi yang dibuat oleh aparat ketika internet dimatikan di Papua, yakni dengan tetap memposting foto dan video ribuan orang Papua yang masih turun ke jalan mengecam rasisme dan meminta referendum penentuan nasib sendiri.


Bukan hanya ancaman mati dan diperkosa kerap saya terima, namun juga menjadi sasaran misinformasi online yang belakangan ditemukan oleh investigasi Reuters sebagai dibekingi dan dibiayai oleh TNI.


Kemenkeu telah mengabaikan fakta bahwa saya telah langsung kembali ke Indonesia usai masa studi, dan mengabaikan pula fakta bahwa saya telah menunjukkan keinginan kembali ke Indonesia apabila tidak sedang mengalami ancaman yang membahayakan keselamatan saya.


Melalui surat ini, saya meminta kepada Kemenkeu terutama Menteri Sri Mulyani untuk bersikap adil dan berdiri netral dalam melihat persoalan ini sehingga tidak menjadi bagian dari lembaga negara yang hendak menghukum saya karena kapasitas saya sebagai pengacara publik yang memberikan pembelaan HAM Papua.


bottom of page